Good vibrations

9 okt

I finally left Kasese Saturday and arrived in Kampala without problem. The patched up tank and African home-made radiator did the job perfectly. It’s such a shame that I’m programmed to not take the risks, but honestly I really should try them longer.

I mostly spent my days just hanging around, waiting for parts, waiting for full recovery, making plans, wondering what the hell had happened. Once again I was amazed by all the concern, encouragement, support and willingness to help I got from complete strangers, people I have never met before and maybe never will. It definitely helped me to stay positive. At first, Mr. Dan (the hotel’s owner) watched over me. He thought I was lonely; I wasn’t. I wrote a lot, re-living the stories, reminding myself not to get depressed by the accident, but remaining determined to continue… for this is me, this is what I do, this is what I love!

After Carlos left, Jose & Noa showed up for a long planned reunion. We hadn’t seen each other since they set off from Tim & Kim’s and we had lots of stories to exchange, interesting thoughts to discuss and many laughs to share.

As the days passed, Mr. Dan remained positive. The tank will work he’d say. The tank will work until Kigali he would add, taking much away from what he had just said. As I reassembled the tank, it started leaking right away. Better! Mr. Dan said, So they can fix it now. It’s the African optimism and hope that I admire, love & hate at the same time. We know it won’t hold. Even the guy who did the repair said it will hold… long enough for you to get a new one.

The radiator took five days to replicate. Difficult it was. And the radiator guy wanted to make an additional spare one for me. Why? If it’s gonna hold, then why? But TIA: as long as we live, there’s hope. I have little faith, however, in it taking me very far. The brass, copper and aluminum parts couldn’t be welded, so the guy simply used a lot of silicone to seal it. For now it will do, I hope. I have to try, though, I have to do at least 1000-2000kms with this home-made piece of art; for I am in Africa and to the little extent that I can, I should do it as the Africans do.

Joined by Jose & Noa I rode to the equator again. It felt good doing this with friends. It felt good to be there again. It felt good to be there without looking back at what had happened, but looking forward to what is to come.

I rarely use my mp3-player while riding, but I turned it on after saying goodbye to the friendly (s)lowriders. The first song was a song recently given by a stranger who’s a good friend. I stopped the bike and listened. Then pressed repeat and listened again. Yeah man, good vibrations… that’s what it is… good vibrations indeed!!

 

2 Reacties to “Good vibrations”

  1. Rene oktober 12, 2011 bij 21:56 #

    Jeroen. Super. Mooi dat hij weer loopt. Succes vanuit Echt

  2. Christian november 13, 2011 bij 16:35 #

    Hi dude. What’s going on. To motivate you for more storys have signed in as a follower. Have fun!

Plaats een reactie