Meeting famous people

4 nov

While saying goodbye to the Frenchies and Noé in the parking lot of Siete Tazas, we meet three other kayakers. As the others take off, Noé tells me to definitely talk to them as he is sure one of the guys is a well known kayaker.
So I chat a little with them, but nothing says “famous” to me. Even when they tell me they will be running the 25 metre high Salto Leona at the end of Siete Tazas canyon I’m somewhat sceptical. I would like to see them do it, but at the same time I have no desire to see someone plunge to their death.

As the guys go scout their route, I chat some more with the photographer of the group. He works for Pucón kayak hostel, and I figure he might be a good contact to have. I decide go to the bottom of the waterfall with him, where he hands me a camera to take pictures of the guys running the waterfall.

He then explains these three guys are some of the best extreme kayakers in the world. Their names don’t ring a bell at all though, but admittedly I don’t really watch kayak videos nor do I read kayak magazines.

It takes about two hours sitting still before Adrian, Evan and Hayden (who’s turning only 18 years old today) appear from the obscure canyon and drop into the pool below, where unsuspecting tourists are just swimming and relaxing.

In exchange for me taking their pictures, the guys offer to pay me dinner, and it’s only then, when they show me their gopro footage, that I realise how good these guys are. It’s not just the 25 metre drop, but the part before the waterfall that is supersketchy.

Admittedly, I don’t really fit into this group and it’s hard to relate to these guys as they only talk about the wildest, biggest, most infamous rivers and highest waterfalls on the planet. On the other, hand, they actually heard of this guy almost losing his boat on 22 saltos the other day, so I guess I have a small claim to fame as well.

It does become clear to me though that these guys are not simply daredevils taking on huge risks that mere mortals like me will never be willing to take. These are some of the most capable kayakers in the world, aiming to push the limits of the sport, not just for their own glory but for the progression of the sport.

Unfortunately for me, they are taking it to way too far…

Plaats een reactie