Archief | 17:25

HAPPY DAYZZZZ

2 sep

So yeah, three days ago I arrived in Bujagali, Uganda, which means I have successfully completed part 1 of this trip. HAPPY DAYZZZ!!!!

When I came up with this trip, one of the must-sees for me was the place I first tried kayaking two years ago. It’s situated right on the banks of the (White) Nile, just a few kilometers from its source, overlooking the white waters of the longest river in the world. For me this has always been part 1 of the trip (part 2 are the roads to Vic Falls, Zambia) and with crossing the Middle East and countries like the Sudan I knew it was going to be “interesting”. It’s five months and 22.028kms now since the start of my trip… and all I can say is: it was fun, man!! It was so much fun!!!

Okay, the past month or so has been quite challenging. I had a leaking (so defective) front shock in Ethiopia, had to put the bike on the back of a truck after it broke down coming into Kenya (fuel filter problems -again-), followed by issues with the electronics. At times depressing, but man… when the bike runs, it runs great. Then it feels like the best bike in the world, riding on the best roads/tracks in the world, in the coolest continent in the world. And of course, the sexy dude steering the orange beast is the coolest rider, head in the clouds and,  on top of the world.

I have to say, Kenya was a huge surprise. I saw thousands of wildebeest migrating on the grassy plains of the Masai Mara (topped off with a water crossing, some lions, some leopards, the odd cheetah), found endless unpaved earth roads heading back north, rode the bike into a 1,5mtr deep ditch in the middle of a village – head first, got stuck in seriously muddy conditions several times, had to sleep in a police checkpoint, a primary school and a priest’s home. Truly, and with the advantage of hindsight: it was so much fun!!

And Uganda…. Uganda is da bomb!! The views of the lowlands looking down from Mt. Elgon, getting stuck on muddy roads -again!-, crossing the savanna lands of the formerly bandit area of Karamojong, riding the bike through game parks like the truly magnificent Kidepo NP, seeing the raging waters of Murchison Falls… man, there’s so many stories…

He hasn’t featured in any of my stories yet (some are now being reviewed by my editor, so coming soon 🙂 ) but I met up with my buddy Carlos yesterday after not seeing each other for three weeks. While we had a beer or two, we talked and talked and talked.. so many stories…

So now, I will stay in Bujagali for a week or maybe two. Chillaxing, kayaking, and recharging for the second part which (amongst others) will feature personal dream destinations of mine: Tanzania and Zambia. Man, it’s gonna be great!! But hey, one step at a time, mate… one step at a time!!